Follow Dashboard

Catherine Lim
Sunday, March 3, 2013 | 1:05 PM | 0 comments

The Writer

Born on 21st March 1942 in Penang, Malaysia, Catherine Lim is a well-known Singaporean writer with over 20 works to her name. Prominent themes present in some of her works are that of traditional Chinese culture and the clash between tradition and modernity.

Many of these works have gained her international acclaim, with some accolades she has received including an Honorary Doctorate in Literature from Murdoch University, the Southeast Asia Write Award, as well as the Chevalier de L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the Ministry for Culture and Communications of France for her contributions to literature.

Lim continues to write both fiction and social and political commentary today.

Her Works:


·         The Serpent's Tooth, Times Books International, Singapore, 1982

·         The Bondmaid, self-published, 1995 (Orion 1997; foreign edns 1997, 1998)

·         The Teardrop Story Woman, Orion, London, 1998

·         Following the Wrong God Home, Allen & Unwin, London, 2001

·         Leap of Love, Horizon Books, Singapore, 2003 (a novella)

·         The Song of Silver Frond, Orion, London, 2003

·         Miss Seetoh and the World, Marshall Cavendish, 2010

Short Story Collections:

·         Little Ironies: Stories of Singapore, Heinemann Asia, Singapore, 1978

·         Or Else, the Lightning God and Other Stories, Heinemann Asia, Singapore, 1980

·         They Do Return...But Gently Lead Them Back, Times Books International, Singapore, 1983

·         The Shadow of a Shadow of a Dream: Love Stories of Singapore, Times Books International, Singapore, 1987

·         O Singapore! Stories in Celebration, Times Books International, Singapore, 1988

·         Deadline for Love and Other Stories, Heinemann Asia, 1992

·         Meet Me on the Queen Elizabeth 2!, Heinemann Asia, Singapore, 1993

·         The Best of Catherine Lim, Heinemann Asia, Singapore, 1993

·         The Woman's Book of Superlatives, Times Books International, 1993

·         The Howling Silence: tales of the dead and their return, Horizon Books, Singapore 1999


·         Love's Lonely Impulses, Heinemann Asia, Singapore, 1992

·         Humoresque, Horizon Books, Singapore, 2006


·         Unhurried Thoughts At My Funeral, Horizon Books, Singapore, 2005

·         A Watershed Election: Singapore's GE 2011, Marshall Cavendish, Singapore, 2011

Labels: ,